Alone

     Felt like being alone today.  Not sure why, but just felt like I had to be.  I knew the others were all hanging out in one of the classrooms during break, but it was as if something was pulling or pushing me away.  I enjoy my time with my friends especially since I don’t get out as often as I would like too.  So it was strange that I was not there with them.

     I wandered the halls, thinking of what I should do, really aimless walking around.  Should I go to the Cafeteria?  Should I go to the market?  Should I go to the tree on the back field and hang out there?  These were just a few of the questions I was asking myself.  I wasn’t feeling depressed or anything like that, wasn’t upset that I missed my favorite TV show, just a feeling a being alone was all I felt.

     I ended up at the school library, which is strange because I hardly ever go there.  I am not much of a reader unless it is manga or a movie with subtitles.  I walked around passing all the book shelves with my arm stretched out and my fingers caressing each books as I walked.  I could feel the wrinkles in the spines of the paperbound books from being opened many times; I could feel the smooth plastic of the books covered in the protective dust covers.  I know that if someone saw me doing this, they might think I was strange, but that thought in the back of my head didn’t even stop me.  I am sure the librarian saw me, but at the same time it was if she didn’t.  The times I have been in there before, I know she had an eagle eye on everyone, keeping watch so we didn’t write graffiti or things in the books.

     I walked passed the book shelf to the far left of the room and that is where I stopped.  The feeling of the book that my finger had finally rest on gave me goose bumps.  It was an old wrinkled brown leather bound book in which the spine gave no clue to what it was.  I pulled it from the shelf and sat down with it at the near by table.

     The cover much like the spine had not title, no “written by”, no nothing other than an impression of a star with in a circle around it.  Wanting to see if there was a title page, I opened it.  The stiffness of the book and pages made it seem like it had never been open before, but I had I feeling that I knew it had been.  As I look in the book, I noticed it was in a language I did not know, but oddly I was able to read it.  I read the first few pages, telling of the “Revelation at the end of the age” and the “Fallen prince that will come”.  I laughed at the thought that this would make a great Hollywood movie, at least I did until I came across my name written within the pages.

     I dropped the book and ran out, my heart racing.  From there, I didn’t want to be alone.

July 20, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . by Kasumi, Location: Classroom.

One Comment

  1. yumidoll replied:

    YAY! I really like where this is going. So mysterious and exciting. You have me hooked now!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

